Interconnected

“Your life and my life flow into each other as wave flows into wave, and unless there is peace and joy and freedom for you, there can be no real peace or joy or freedom for me. To see reality—not as we expect it to be but as it isis to see that unless we live for each other and in and through each other, we do not really live very satisfactorily. That there can really be life only where there really is, in just this senselove.”  -Frederick Buechner

I’ve been rolling this quote around in my mind the past week. Beyond the six degrees of separation idea and other similar concepts, I do believe that we are all connected to each other. Buechner has, as is pretty typical for him, put a thought of mine into words about a million times more eloquently than I could hope to do. Except he probably wrote this before I was even born, so I guess I had the thought and then found out he wrote about it…(huh. I think I just confused myself with that one).

Just as interconnected in my mind are the ideas of life and love. I’ve come to realize that life without love isn’t really living and that to choose to love is to choose life. I’ll admit I love rather poorly most days. I want to love more, to love better, to love when it’s uncomfortable and when it hurts and when it’s inconvenient.

This idea that we are all interconnected is why I care so much about people around the globe, about women’s issues and extreme poverty and HIV/AIDS and exploitation. It’s the reason why I simply cannot buy into the American dream, why I want to keep simplifying my life, why I read and study and hurt for people I’ve never met. I don’t believe my life can be full on my own. I need you and you need me and we both need our brothers and sisters next door and halfway across the globe. We are all interconnected.

“…unless we live for each other and in and through each other, we do not really live very satisfactorily.”

Leave a Reply

