“the train-song”

The city sleeps,
though I do not.

The regular hustle and bustle
reduced to stillness.
To quiet. Almost too quiet.

Then I hear the train whistle.

How can such a lonely sound feel like home?

I remember childhood nights,
tucked inside my bed,
listening to the same soulful tune.

I wonder. Was it lonely then (too)?
Was I?

Back then the whistle
sounded like adventure.
The train was going somewhere.
I was not.

Now I’m somewhere.

And the train-song makes me dream of home.

2 thoughts on ““the train-song”

  1. vicklinde says:

    I really love this piece.
    V.

Leave a Reply

