When the music is live and so am I

I breathe in.
The music swells
it threatens to overtake me.
But I am not consumed.

Is it the lyrics
the harmonies
or the instruments
so expertly played that affect me so
deeply?

My heart feels
several sizes larger.
Too big for my chest.
It should hurt.
In some ways it does.

I feel
overwhelmed.
Even more than normal.
Feelings that have no words to
explain them.
Feelings I can’t identify.

It’s the intersection of
joy and
heartache.

I feel so alive.

And in this moment
I am happy to be sad.

Leave a Reply

